what forums are important in an rpg?

fruity20

I'm just starting out with making my rp forum but i'm not sure what threads i should make on there.

I'm going to be totally honest, this is so subjective that no one is going to really be able to answer it for you.

It depends very heavily on what kind of rp you're creating and how you intend to run it - does it have a system? how does character creation work? do you have an application process?

These are all questions you should be asking yourself, possibly before you even begin to create a board. Beyond that, consider rps you have joined and what kind of sets up they have.

• Agree 2

affiliatebutton.png

Some must be warriors that others may live in peace.

• Operations Mod

I would venture that the only boards any rp site absolutely has to have are Information (Rules/Plot and Species/Faction info), Character Profiles (if required, but still doesn't hurt to give players the option to create one even if they're not), Plotting, and of course the actual RP locations in the world. 

Depending on your game mechanics an Announcement board for site/plot events is often useful. 

Out of Character boards are sometimes useful, but with Discord servers being so popular they don't get used much these days. I create these as requested by players, that way they get used - things like a Game board or an Art board for members to share and display what they've created. 

bannerlong.png

0_mainsignature (1).jpg

rpgida.png

Icon & Profile set by The Inquisitor of Dragon Age: Absolution

• Admin

I agree with the above. There is no formula to making a great site. Really its all about dedication. It also depends on the software you're using and more.

So good things to ask yourself is, "What do I want to accomplish? What will guests need in order to understand my site?" What a site does is organize these things and get them lined up for completing it and getting others involved.

0_mainsignature.jpg

image.png