Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Deep Sea

Plotting is hard, please do my job for me

Okay, so the title is a little tongue in cheek, but not entirely.

I have an issue as a game master, and that is plotting. I'm actually quite terrible at creating succinct, tangible conflicts. I can make worlds, set up pawns, give the players goals.... but I can't seem to actually come up with plots. Whoever said I was a good English student was a liar.

First of all, how the hell would you guys personally define a plot, and what are some of your examples?

Second of all, given my RP concept so far, what would you suggest as possible plots? The premise is that the gods of a generic high fantasy world have all seemingly self-destructed, and the player characters are a variety of souls made immortal and selected to replace the pantheon to fill the void. The overall goal is for the characters to come into their new almighty powers, and figure out how to convince the unwashed masses that they are gods.

• Fuck Yeah! 2

4 minutes ago, Deep Sea said:

I can make worlds, set up pawns, give the players goals.... but I can't seem to actually come up with plots

I totally feel you there. Or rather I'm not sure how to make plots that are good for RPs. Like, I can easily make them for something that isn't an RP, like a VN, but it's much harder if you have to take RPers into consideration.

• Cheers 1

@Deep Sea Like @Gota, I understand entirely!

Fortunately, my sites are small and we all leap in and kick around plots. I am good at coming up with a core idea but horrible at execution. What I usually do is keep a plot document on the site and update it with plot points that forwards the story. It is up to the players to pick one and write it out. The plot points do not specifically say who or how it needs to be played, just X must be accomplished for the next action to occur.