Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Gossamer

Light Conflict Resolution Mechanics

So, I'm currently working on a roleplay forum that is meant to have a very mission-based overarching plot system.  It's set largely around a single spaceship, and the direction of the overall plot is determined by mission results.  I didn't want missions to be automatically insta-win, and to have some chance for failure, complications, or success, so I'm looking at implementing some game mechanics.

And I think they're just fun.  

In developing this system, I've looked a lot at pbta (powered by the apocalypse) games, since they tend to be more narrative focused and are about interactive storytelling.  Plus, I have a lot of experience with running pbta games.  

Goals for this System

• No GM required.  Players should be able to resolve actions entirely on their own, as well as dictate what happens next.  While I want room for a GM for some missions, I do want this system to be accessible to players in their private threads or player-run missions.  
  • Simple action resolution.  Every action should be resolved with a single roll.  There shouldn't be any back and forth required, since that can slow down a play-by-post game.  
  • Room for some character customization -- largely in inventory or attributes that allow for narrative positioning (i.e. You get a special force field tech that you can use in scenes now -- no force field tech if you don't have this item)

Conflict Resolution

This is something optional (unless maybe in staff-run missions) and is left largely in the hands of the players.  But the idea is that if a character is taking an action where the outcome is unknown, or the action is risky or contested, they'll roll 2d6, and add an appropriate attribute to that roll (attributes are still being determined, but they'd range from -1 to +3).

Results

1-6: Failure

7-9: Success with a complication/problem

10+: Full Success