Pouring New Life Into an Old Site

Anonymous

For lack of a better title...

To keep a long story short, I am an admin on a site that has been around for quite some time. Over the years the site has seen a lot of ups and downs. People come and go, it's just part of the territory. But over the past 2 years I have seen activity become more and more stagnant. I take partial responsibility because the past year has not been the best for me mentally, and I really have not been feeling the roleplay vibe at all. Even as I write this, I struggle. Which has also encouraged me to reach out here. 

I feel a lot of why the site has been so quiet is due to some drama that happened a while back the site not really changing much during the aftermath. It's also really starting to look dead. There's no way around it. We don't have contests anymore, and, with photobucket being the pile of garbage that it is, some of the images are either broken or have that stupid ass watermark. The other staff have been around but head admins have been busy with their own thing, outside of the site, and honestly have not been too active. Though to their credit, they are there if anybody needs them, they haven't abandoned the site completely.

What I'm asking here is, when and how should I approach them? I am planning on bringing it up to them and the rest of the staff but I don't want to just drop it. Is waiting until I myself am in a better place the right approach? Or would it be better to just be like 'look, here's how I feel..'? I mean, I guess the latter should be obvious but I'm worried that my opinions would conflict with their vision of the site. It is their site, I don't plan on taking it from them; goodness I don't even know how to code anything outside of basic BBCode used in posts.