What's up with ratings?

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

Hi. I'm new to the world of forum rp. I've been rping on forums for about 3 years now. I've noticed when I check rules and ratings, sometimes I'll see things like 3-3-3, but then stating not to be too sexual. I've also seen some that state not to swear too much. Is there a shame to for sites not to be 3-3-3? Am I wrong to think that 3-3-3 means anything goes? What's the point of ratings?

Broadly speaking, the purpose of an RPG rating is to let potential RPers know what is permitted on the forum (in terms of language, violence, and sexual content).

Having a site that is rated 333 means that swearing and mature language is permitted, sexual content may be described in detail, and explicit violence is permitted; this does not necessarily (in my opinion) mean that anything goes, however (though it certainly can). There may be a situation where it is inappropriate to mark a site as '2' for violence, say (which states that violence is permitted, with limitations) because explicit violence is permitted but there is some content that the site administrators are not willing to permit - for example, violence against animals.

An RPG rating gives you a ballpark understanding of what is permitted on a site, which may then be modified by the administrators own expectations and the comfort level of the community. 333 allows for a lot more freedom to be explicit, even if there are limitations to that explicitness, that a 222 rating does not permit but it does not necessarily permit a person to do anything in excess (which is where 'do not swear too much' and 'do not be too sexual' come into play). Like most ratings, it is also subject to interpretation and people will often err closer to what they think makes sense.

I don't think it's a shame to see a site that is not rated 333, I think it all comes down to the ToS for the host you're on and the comfort level of the community and its staff.

• Agree 2

FBTAff-4.png