Salutations!

I'm a very new Admin. Although I'm not a fan of Activity Checks (AC), i have seen them as a necessary evil. 

On our site we have an soft AC and a hard AC. 

Soft ACs consistent of the members simply tagging the characters they wish to keep and those they wish to drop. 

Hard ACs give a time frame in which a post needs to be made by each character, a link to the thread and who they are threading with.

Of course all of this is time consuming for staff and members. I'm looking for alternatives, that will still yield the same results.

Any ideas, suggestions or feedback would be greatly appreciated!

<3<3<3

Bamf

• I read this! 1

pVV8ahF.png8rS34YE.png

I actually just responded to something similar on another resource site, so I hope you don't mind if I copy/paste my answer!

On WLWB we run things a little differently. We don't do activity checks, roll calls, anything. Part of this is because our site has no activity requirements whatsoever. The only time I really set people to inactive is if, when I notice I haven't seen them around in the chat/posting/peeking around the site at all, I check their accounts through the ACP and notice that they haven't even logged into the site in a while (a month or more). I'll send a cursory PM to nudge them but if that doesn't garner anything, then I set them to inactive, if they didn't previously give me a heads up that they wouldn't be around much. I actually have a member who kind of up and disappeared back in May but they let me know that they were struggling with things at home prior to their disappearance and so I've just left their account stay active and sit there.